java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: org.slf4j.spi.LocationAwareLogger.log, Eclipse Indigo

Overview

I’ve just finished installing the very latest Eclipse, the Indigo. I also would like to install the very latest plugin, too. I had installed some Mylyn connectors, the Eclipse install new software and check for update functions cannot be performed as it was mentioned at the <work_space>/.metadata/.log: -

java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: org.slf4j.spi.LocationAwareLogger.log(Lorg/slf4j/Marker;Ljava/lang/String;ILjava/lang/String;Ljava/lang/Throwable;)V

Searching via Google

I’ve found some issue about the Eclipse which is similar to this before. It occur when I installed the Eclipse:  Spring IDE plugin in as mentioned in this post. I thought the root cause may be the conflict dependency again.

I had searched via Google by using the exception message as a keyword, I found this post which mention about the conflict/missed SFL4J and other related dependencies.

Try to fix

As it is mentioned at this post, I open the

<Eclipse_Home>/configuration/org.eclipse.equinox.simpleconfigurator/bundles.info

I’ve found too many duplicated dependencies as the following: -

  1. The ch.qos.logback.classic
  2. The ch.qos.logback.core
  3. ch.qos.logback.slf4j
  4. org.slf4j.api

I comment the older version by adding the “#” sign at the begin of each line. Anyhow the error still occurs. After I’ve read this post, I’m quite sure that the root cause includes the org.slf4j.jcl. Then I comment it as well.

It’s fixed !!!

Even the Eclipse install new software and check for update functions can be performed as usual. I’m not 100% sure, if I may need to put the org.slf4j.jcl latest version manually to this configuration file or not. If there is any updated, I will update this post for sure. Please stay tuned as usual.

About Charlee Chitsuk

I've been working as a software developer since 1998. At the moment I focus on system integration including with SOA and Enterprise Security Solution.

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Eclipse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. FYI, this tip worked very well in my case.
    Even if the other plugins requiring the slf4j bundle did not work any more (as the m2e plugin), I’ve been able to use Hibernate tools.

    Thanks,
    Fabrice

  2. Hi Fabrice,

    Thank you for your comment. The Apache Maven is one and only one my build tool as well. I would like to inform you that in my case after applying this workaround, the Eclipse/M2E can work together as usual. I’m using the M2E which is shipped together with the Eclipse , instead of the one from the Sonatype .

    If you may have a chance to visit the sonatype web site, you will see further information that the M2E project is under the Eclipse main project already.

    Could you please help to share the trouble in more detail when you applying this with the M2E?

    Regards,

    Charlee Ch.

  3. Excellent! Thanks, that did the trick!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

